Dual La2a - [silent:arts] version

This section is for registered users to discussspecific projects and troubleshooting.

Moderator: kubi

Postby ChuckD » Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:00 am

Numero deux....

Did this one for my producer here in LA for trade on some slick mix-production on some new tracks. Hey Volker I used those old MAllorys in here but I think they might be not so great. When I fire the unit up ,if the gain is up, it squeals a high pitch noise which goes away in 1/2 a second.
So I may swap those caps out to see.


This one has no noise at all!

Image
Image
Image
Image


Thanks Again!

Up next the Analag....

-ChuckD
ChuckD
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 8:49 pm
Location: Irvine California US

Postby [silent:arts] » Mon Jun 09, 2008 8:32 am

Chuck, your output in DIY gear is killing me :shock:
it isn't easy to do a nice frontpannel layout for gear,
and you do two different great looking D-LA2As :hello1:
respect :notworthy:
volker
olafmatt wrote:Strom kann tot machen
[silent:arts]
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:54 pm
Location: BLN

Postby Benny » Mon Jun 09, 2008 12:02 pm

Wow, that looks really nice.
:thumbup:
Benny
Benny
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:10 pm
Location: Philippsthal Germany

Postby bernbrue » Mon Jun 09, 2008 12:17 pm

Charles,
I agree with Volker, your DIY output is simply amazing, concerning both, quantity and quality. You grounded the individual channels to the left of the main board and the IEC ground to the right. Putting all grounds together to a single point on chassis might be better, but when there is no hum at all, leave it as it is. Great front panel.
regards
Bernd
User avatar
bernbrue
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Wolfenbüttel

Postby toff » Mon Jun 09, 2008 12:26 pm

Numero due gets :thumbup: :thumbup:
toff
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:26 pm

Postby Sine Star Audio » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:04 pm

Hi all,

I should be able to drop in a 7812 instead of the 7805 right?

Im thinking of using a relay to switch the mains so i dont have to drag it across to the front panel, possibly.

ChuckD, wonderful wonderful wonderul DIY!!

all the best

Pete
Sine Star Audio
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:43 pm

Postby [silent:arts] » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:13 pm

Pete,
no. with the 9V you get 12.7V rectified, but the 7812 would need some more Volts to work (haven't looked it up, but I think it is at least 3V more then out.
volker
olafmatt wrote:Strom kann tot machen
[silent:arts]
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:54 pm
Location: BLN

Postby Sine Star Audio » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:16 pm

oh ofcourse its 9 in! ha ha nothing but a mirricale wontl get me 12v.. :oops: yes you need 3v drop i think..

what you must think of me...mmmm ok ill have find a 5v relay that can carry enough current.

thanks

Pete
Sine Star Audio
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:43 pm

Postby [silent:arts] » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:20 pm

Pete,

why do you want to switch power on / off with a relay ?

just wondering ...
volker
olafmatt wrote:Strom kann tot machen
[silent:arts]
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:54 pm
Location: BLN

Postby Sine Star Audio » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:33 pm

well

my design for the front panel is all sub-miniture toggle switches, i dont want to use the large retro ones that one would normally use for 240v.

So i was just thinking really...and engaged my mouth before brain...again..

Pete
Sine Star Audio
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:43 pm

Postby [silent:arts] » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:43 pm

switching the mains needs some power :D
"off" works fine :wink:

but for "on" you need the mains transformer connected.
ok, you could switch the secondaries.
volker
olafmatt wrote:Strom kann tot machen
[silent:arts]
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:54 pm
Location: BLN

Postby Sine Star Audio » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:52 pm

can we just delete these last three posts!

please! :oops: :oops:

ah! but i could, could i not? just add a small 240 primary / 18v secondry transformer? to power the 7812 circuit?

dare i press submit any more.....
Sine Star Audio
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:43 pm

Postby [silent:arts] » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:57 pm

no need to delete anything

this would work :D
(but I won't suggest it)
volker
olafmatt wrote:Strom kann tot machen
[silent:arts]
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:54 pm
Location: BLN

Postby Sine Star Audio » Sun Jun 22, 2008 10:04 pm

yes, i think i'll re-think this one..

lol...what a day..! :lol:

night.
Sine Star Audio
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 4:43 pm

Postby bernbrue » Mon Jun 23, 2008 3:08 pm

Hi Pete,
that was a really amusing discussion!! :D :) :)
regards
Bernd
User avatar
bernbrue
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Wolfenbüttel

PreviousNext

Return to DIY Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron